Support

When you make the decision to become a parent there are a lot of things that need to be considered.  Are you going to go back to work? Will you have a career break? If you do will it be part time or full time?  What will your childcare arrangements be? Nursery? Childminder? Family help?

Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrgh Too many questions!!!

I went back to work when Miss B was 5 months old and even though I had to for financial reasons, it took me a long time to get over the guilt of leaving her.  I went back 4 days a week and worked at home for 1 of them, Mr B worked from home 1 day a week and my Mum took her the other 2 days.  It worked really well and the guilt was eased somewhat by the knowledge that Mum was carrying on our wishes and I knew she was getting the best care.  Miss B is very close to her Gug (that’s what she calls her even though she has always been able to say Gran) and she still goes there 2 days a week while I work.  

Last week I had to go away for work for a few days and Mr B was headed to London so Mum offered to take Miss B overnight to make things easier on her. She stayed there Monday and Tuesday night, went to nursery on Wednesday and Mum picked her up, fed her and then fed Mr B when he went to collect her.  She also sent home some milk, bread and cold meat because she knew I would be home late.

I know I am really lucky to have a great support network around me and I always try to make sure that Mum knows how appreciated she is.  We all took her for lunch on Saturday as a thank you to a restaurant she wanted to try and Miss B bought her some flowers and made her a card too.

Here’s a little picture of Miss B and her amazing Gug, love you Mum.

Media_httpmediatumblr_gwavb

Leave a Reply

