Feeling Flat

Yesterday after a very long day of meetings in Falkirk then Dundee, I drove up to Aberdeen.  I hit the traffic in Dundee at rush hour and it was cold, dark and very busy.

I eventually got to my hotel at 7pm after a short stop off at Tesco for supplies and was totally wiped out.  Went to the restaurant for some grub and a much needed glass of wine and then hit the hay.  I woke up at 5:40 to get an early start, had breakfast and went to head to work.  While defrosting my car I discovered one of my tyres was flat, aaaaaaaaaargh.  It was 7:15am, pitch black and I was miles away from home.

So, not the best start to my day!

I rang the Manager I had a meeting with at 8am and explained what had happened and he said not to worry that he would get someone to drop by and change my tyre. Woo hoo I thought, don’t need to call my breakdown cover and will be in work in no time.  So the wee man turned up and started tinkering with my tyre.  After 20 minutes he shouted me over and explained that the jack had buckled, collapsed and gone through the bottom of my car, and then when I looked at it, discovered it had torn a huge part of the trim off with it.

Now normally if something happens to my car, like when it’s been scratched before, I go into a meltdown/panic mode and totally flap.  Today I surprised myself.  I said to the guy, lets leave it, head to work and I would deal with it later.

Thankfully the Transport Manager sent 2 mechanics to sort it out and brought it back down to where I was.  They put the spare on, patched up most of the hole under car and tidied up the trim the best they could.  After my meetings I made a mad dash down to EK where I headed straight to the tyre place I always go to and got a new one, £62 quid later we are sorted πŸ™‚

So it was an eventful day and I learned that there’s no point in sweating the things you can’t change.  Today started off badly but ended with me getting home safely and spending a few quality hours with Miss B. 

Cx

Media_httpmediatumblr_chgai

Leave a Reply

